top of page

NOV 14 | MARCELLOUS LOVELACE ART SHOW | #BIKO70 PRESENTS: BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD

MARCELLOUS LOVELACE ART SHOW | #BIKO70 PRESENTS: BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD

Listed by Marcellous Lovelace via Facebook

Fri Nov 14 6:00 pm

elee.mosynary gallery (center map)

645 W 18th St Chicago

2,842 attending

About: NOV 14 2014 | #BIKO70 PRESENTS: BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD | MARCELLOUS LOVELACE ART SHOW elee.mosynary Gallery 645 W. 18th. St. CHICAGO IL 60616 | www.marcellouslovelace.com | www.eleegallery.com #BLACKISBEAUTIFULTVISBAD #FRIDAY #CHICAGO

#BIKO70 “Black is Beautiful TV is Bad” an Art Show by Marcellous Lovelace | www.marcellouslovelace.com A study on Social Awareness through positive Afro Urban Indigenous Folk paintings designed by Marcellous Lovelace titled #BIKO70 “Black is Beautiful TV is Bad”. Marcellous uses his stance against mainstream media and popular culture tiled the #antieverything campaign to tell his story of African Culture in Contemporary Conscious Black Art. #BIKO70 “Black is Beautiful TV is Bad” promotes self love and negates negative propaganda promoted about Black People. Positive Music Provided For Sale: Original Works of Art #LBS #BIKO70 BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD Nappy9 T - Shirts #LBS #BIKO70 BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD ART COLOR BOOK BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL TV IS BAD Poster Prints Artist Statement / Bio: Marcellous Lovelace the Afro Urban Indigenous Folk Artist The art form that I practice is Painting in Mixed Media with Found Materials. I paint from my experience living on the South Side of Chicago and Living in Poverty in the State of Illinois. I use found objects throughout the City of Chicago and The State of Illinois as reference of my surroundings in my work. I work on everything from old found pieces of paper, garbage cans, tires, mattresses and used construction material found from torn down buildings. Chicago is such a diversely segregated environment it influences struggle and pain. I learned to call myself an Afro Urban Indigenous Folk Artist. The tragedies that occur in my city help me reinterpret the oppression on all surfaces. I was born and raised on the South Side of Chicago in a community called Roseland. This segregated poverty stricken environment helped me to develop over 400 images a year over the last 25 years of my life. My environment is so negative it helps me to create beauty form this struggle. I paint because it’s the only thing that feels good after feeling like I’m trapped in world that has no hope. I also have lived in place in Chicago known as Terror Town on the South Side of Chicago that is also highly populated with gang activity due to the fact the city really doesn't care about what happens to the underprivileged citizens in the city. Terror Town is near 75th and Exchange off of South Shore Drive, in this area I painted a large portion of my work in a residence that was controlled by drug addicts and bombarded by roaches. Many of these pests and addicts ended up being a part of my work. For most of my adult life I have worked on Art regardless of the situation and I always will because these colorful problems help me to continue to see through the blight.

bottom of page